Sign Up to Stay Informed!

Sign Up to Stay Informed!

Staff Directory

Sharon Urig - Principal

Contact: surig@smselyria.org

St. Mary School is a great place to learn and work! The children are courteous, cooperative, and active learners. The staff is welcoming and professional.

Sr. Mary Dorothy – Parish Catechetical Leader

Contact: smdt44035@gmail.com

SMS is a loving, close group that feels like family. The students are excited to learn, and the parents and staff give me great support.

Sandra Babb – Preschool Teacher

Contact: sbabb@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Preschool Curriculum

I enjoy being able to talk about God at any time and the family atmosphere here.

Nancy Knuff – Kindergarten Teacher and Assistant Principal

Contact: nknuff@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Kindergarten Curriculum

The atmosphere around the campus is family-like. St. Mary is Christ-centered with a lot of parent support.

Peggy Quinn – First Grade Teacher

Contact: pquinn@smselyria.org
Subject(s): First Grade Curriculum

We offer quality education. Our students are kind and loving, and parents are supportive. The staff members are caring and giving.

Stephanie st. marie – second Grade Teacher

Contact: sstmarie@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Second Grade Curriculum

The history, strong faith, and people of St. Mary make it a great place to work. I have the pleasure of working with students and families who truly care about the quality of education they receive. St. Mary is family, and I am honored to be a part of it.

LAURA CHAVES – Third Grade Teacher

Contact: lchaves@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Math, Reading, Social Studies, Science, English and Writing

St. Mary School is a warm, loving, family-oriented place to teach.

 

Natalie Kelley – Fourth Grade Teacher

Contact: nkelley@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Religion, Math, Social Studies Gr. 4 & 5, English, Reading, Spelling

I absolutely enjoy the Catholic atmosphere and structure that make up the St. Mary community. The parents are involved and supportive, which are keys to the students’ success.

 

 

Natalie Popelka – FIFTH Grade Teacher

Contact: npopelka@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Religion, Language Arts, Reading, Math, Science Gr. 4 & 5, Health Gr. 4 & 5

I appreciate how eager the students are to learn and their willingness to try new things.

Michele Hunt – Sixth Grade teacher

Contact: mhunt@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Religion Gr. 6-8, Social Studies/History Gr. 6-8, Health Gr. 6

The feeling of a family is what I appreciate most about teaching at SMS.

 

 

Kerry Faris – SEVENTH Grade Teacher

Contact: kfaris@smselyria.org
Subject(s): English Gr. 6-8, Literature Gr. 6-8, Health Gr. 7

“The whole purpose of education is to turn mirrors into windows.”

Sydney J. Harris

Laura krese – Eighth Grade Teacher and Enrichment

Contact: lkrese@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Science Gr. 6-8, Math Gr. 7 & 8, Health Gr. 8, Enrichment Gr. 3-8

Wherever you go, always leave a footprint!

 

 

Angie Pluta – Director of Development, Junior High Math Teacher and Technology Teacher

Contact: apluta@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Math Gr. 6-8 and Technology Gr. PS-8

Teaching at SMS feels like being with family.

 

 

Jill Breton – Spanish Teacher

Contact: jbreton@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Spanish Gr. K-8

I love sharing my enthusiasm for Spanish with the students and watching them grow in their Spanish language abilities.

 

AnN McDonald – Music Teacher

Contact: apluta@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Music Gr. PS-8, Lunch Choir

The best part of SMS is the support received by fellow faculty members and parents.

 

Cynthia Bredel – Physical Education Teacher

Contact: cbredel@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Physical Education Gr. PS-8

St. Mary School is a wonderful place to teach. I enjoy challenging the students to improve their physical fitness and self-discipline.

 

Susan Obral– Art Teacher


Contact: sobral@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Art Gr. PS-8

I love the students, who are so eager to try art projects, and I love being in the center of Elyria.

Laura Ramsey– Instrumental Music Teacher


Contact:  lramsey@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Band Gr. 4-8, Recorder Gr. 3

SMS is a loving, close group that feels like family. The students are excited to learn, and the parents and staff give me great support.

Contact

St. Mary's School

237 4th Street 
Elyria, OH 44035

Call Us

Mary Poling, Secretary:
440-322-2808
Sharon Urig, Principal:
440-322-2808 Ext: 241

Mission Statement

Saint Mary School follows the examples of our patroness Mary and her Son Jesus Christ by respecting others, fostering spiritual development, striving for academic excellence, and providing service to our community.

Follow Us

Registration is Now UnderwayRead more
+